Holy Nainggolan
6 min readMar 10, 2022

Samosir is way more beautiful than Bali.

Both Bali and Samosir are amazing with their own cultural and natural signatures. Bali is all about their beaches, Samosir has lakes. It’s worth to visit both. But because of the domestically and internationally lack of Samosir’s fame comparing to Bali, I have to say “Samosir is actually waaaay more beautiful than Bali”. Then what distinguishes these both? These two dazzling places are unique and authentic with the original cultures, arts and music. It’s a sort of boon to my soul witnessing the diversity of culture beauty because I love to see how people spiritually, and culturally, doing their things with their own way. The Hinduism in Bali was actually what excited me to visit that land, and I consider this probably what excites other people too, except of the beach. What so fascinating about Hinduism so I got more excited to visit Bali? It because this Hinduism grow fast in this land and it blend up with the culture and art and music. Just beautiful. But, if I have to pick up the most dazzling land to spend my whole life in, I personally pick up Samosir. Though Samosir is my homeland and Bali is a place I live in for just 2 weeks, I would say it’s still okay to say that Samosir still wins my heart and here the reason for the statement I made you might think it’s kinda bias.

I consider the beauty of beaches in Bali is not that beautiful rather than other beaches I’ve seen, even Marina beach in Semarang which relatively has no fame comparing to other beaches in Java is not that bad actually. I used to think that Marina beach must be that bad rather than the most underrated beach in Bali, but then I saw Seminyak, Legian, Sanur, Jimbaran, Ubud and sort of it, I change my mind. I’m sorry, but Marina beach in the morning is as good as Jimbaran beach in the afternoon, no significant difference. So, why Bali is so famous with the beach? I would say, the crowd in like every beaches and spots in Bali make it more fantastic to visit, it’s really fun living in such a crowd, it feels like we’re all kind of euphoric about something. When I first attempted to Seminyak, I felt like “wow, there are so many people here, it’s crowdy and I’m not the kind of person who comfortable in such a crowd but I love this crowd, feels like euphoric, like oh my god, should I live here?”.
Also, what’s special about Bali is the quality dualism. It feels simple but somehow it’s luxe. It’s calming and relaxing to leisurely stroll along the road because the road is pedestrian friendly and the local residents are nice enough. There are so many traditional restaurants with traditional food with affordable price and also you can find affordable lodging easily. Those all make this place feels just so simple and nice. But, this place is also luxury with all those cafes and hotels and clubs and restaurants and so on which you probably won’t find it in Samosir. Jump to another water spot, honestly I was not so into the Bedugul lake, no such a special thing. Actually, after looking here and there, and found nothing to adore, I was trying to find a corner to just sit and witness people make fun of theirselves. The place is boring.

The beaches this town proud of is not 100% lovely. It’s sucks when I’d to spend over 2 million rupiah for dinner in the edge of Jimbaran beach which full of trashes and waste. It’s disgusting. You know, I put high expectations before visiting this place. I thought the lack of Samosir fame is just because of the trashes along the certain spot, but this one of popular beach is full of trashes. Jump to another spot, I got joy when doing diving in Nusa Dua, I knew that’s the thing Samosir doesn’t has and I have to appreciate the management of the water spot, the ambiance was so good.
Next to the cultural beauty. As a person who live in a town dominated by just one tribe & ethnic and religion, witnessing the way Balinese people doing their things is amazing and dazling for me. The “melukat” in Hindu ceremony giving me chill and peace though I didn’t try it. I love to see them wearing the traditional clothes in daily and ceremony. I love the Kecak Fire dance, I got a goosebumps. I love the way them speaking, love the accents, love the consistency to keep using the traditional signature home and building style, aaand of course I love Bali for the dogs like wherever you go, there must be dogs, ah I love it.

It’s time to babble on why I stated Samosir is way more beautiful than Bali. First, I’m gonna start with the lake. It might be personal, but I think ocean is scary, no? I mean like yeah beach is amazing but it’s scary of the possibility of caught in the waves. Unlike oceans, I think lakes are more visitor friendly. Yes, the depth of coast is not as friendly as oceans, but the edge is enough to swim and play and the wave is relatively more gentle, no?. Idk why, but I got more peace when swim in lake rather than beach. Perhaps I don’t like the salt too? But, I warn you to not swim and play protruding deeper because again, unlike oceans, lakes depth increasing is that significant. But, what so ever, still I love lakes more than oceans. It has hill in every end point, so you got chill. Because Toba lake is arised from great eruption, the lake is surrounded by tiny yet beautiful hills. I think these hills the one which give another level of beauty to Toba lake. I’d give you one pic to show you the beauty I meant.

According to a personal opinion, that is the best tourism artwork I ever see. That’s amazing. I’m dazled. And the other beautiful place is all the villages that are on the hill, you ought to see it by yourself. It’s amazing. You will see another lifestyle which amazes you. The life they have is relatively so minimal and simple, but they look so happy.
Next to the cultural beauty and again, perhaps it’s a kinda bias, but I do love this tribe and the ethnic and the things we do. Like Balinese Hinduism, Bataknese Christianity has the authenticity when doing the things. We wear our best “kebaya” to church and traditional events but we don’t wear it daily. But, if you find one wears this kebaya in a day not Sunday, she’s just doing traditional ceremony. From all the traditional ceremony of a tribe/ethnic I watched on youtube, Batak tradition wins the longest tradition ceremony. Go watch and witness the ceremony! It’s fun, I assure you, it paid off. But, make sure you watch it carefully and ask everything you want to know from the old man holding his beer. Don’t take it personal when you gracefully ask for an answer but then they give you too loud and thick accents, they aren’t mad, they just Batak hahahaha. If Bali has Kecak Fire dance, we have Tor Tor. You can join the Tor-Tor, it’s quiet easy to follow. There’s also places you can visit, more like historic place, like Sianjur Mula-mula (a place that is believed to be the origin of the Batak civilization), Raja Sidabutar grave (a megalithikum grave of old Bataknese tribe king)and sort of it. If you love history, you might love those places. This ethnic is known with the stiff of the tradition, so you’ll find so many ethnic matters when you attempting to this land. You’ll find so many tiny unique and typical building along the way. You should know, it’s not a home living or what so ever, it’s grave ladies and gents. Yeah, we give that much respect to the passed one. You might be dazled yet a little bit shock because you’ll randomly find pigs across the street or along the village. Yah, that part is sucks. It’s not lovely, I know haha.
MMmmmm actually, there are so many reasons for my title statement but I’m sleepy RN, perhaps I’ll update this babbling sooner as I remember to come back. BYE